homework

28 Dec

By pure accident I was watching the British channel Mtv Rocks a couple of weeks ago. Personally I hate the UK Top 10 rock songs chart cause for months now it’s ending with either Coldplay or Florence and the Machine, which I don’t find very interesting – and I should probably state in the very beginning that most of today’s music I don’t find interesting at all. But… the chart included a great surprise. Among a few moronic comments made by the host of the program, who considers himself to be funny, the guy stated that the video they would play presented a band that was considered “hope” of modern British rock. I thought that the comment was funny itself since it stated clearly that the top 10 UK rock songs chart wasn’t really a rock chart – something I firmly believe since all this contemporary whining, whether it is American or British, is difficult to define as rock. And then they played… Pulled Apart By Horses. I found their self titled album immediately and can’t stop listening to it for over two weeks now.

Hope for contemporary rock? Sure it is. These guys sure know how to rock and I am completely amazed that someone could record a debut album which could be so mature, innovative and professional. I am not a huge fan of hysterical screaming as a vocal technique. But, on the other hand, I guess this is something you should just get used to. I remember talking with a friend in the mid-1990s about Jon Davis and Korn. We had the exact feeling about Davis’ vocal abilities. And? Well… there’s no need to explain that it’s impossible to imagine contemporary vocal techniques without Jon Davis. Anyway, at some point I got used to Tom Hudson’s vocals and when it stopped irritating me, I realized his screaming is actually pretty good – very much tuned with the music, only seeming to be out of tune and random.

The band itself does an amazing job. And I realized at some point someone here has done their homework real well, not only being deeply rooted in punk or even grunge but also, surpsingly for myself, Rage Against the Machine (LOL). Pulled Apart By Horses is based on strong, very catchy, melodic riffs, very rhythmical drum section and… screaming. Sounds familiar? Ain’t that a recipe for rock?

All in all – I suppose it’s hard and completely unfair to judge now. But I think that Pulled Apart By Horses already managed to bring something fresh and innovative to the contemporary rock scene which, unfortunately, remains pretty steady for at least a decade, allowing only few artists to become great stars. Needless to say, some of them don’t really deserve it, imho. But… not to whine myself, hey, let’s just cross fingers for Pulled Apart By Horses. I am really hoping that they can continue their great, fresh and truly energetic work and, perhaps, one day they can become a rock phenomenon comparable to the Jesus and Mary Chain (if we’re talking about British rock and alternative rock bands) maybe? But that will happen only if they don’t get spoiled. Homework’s done. Now it’s time for some real hard work. I cross my fingers for you, guys.

P.S. As far as I know, this is the third official video of PABH. Kudos! To the band, to the director, to the people responsible for photography and editing. One of the most disturbing videos I’ve seen this year and a set of brilliant, pretty random scenes which embody all that rock really is and should be – angst, anger, riot. Jeeez, I wish these guys can continue their work. Well, for sure I will be the one who will take a closer look at what they’ll be up to now :-]

Share

Leave a Reply

